SC Appalachian Council of Governments

Serving 6 Counties and 42 Municipalities since 1965
• Anderson • Cherokee • Greenville • Oconee • Pickens • Spartanburg •

Staff Directory
(864) 242-9733

Welcome from the Executive Director

About the ACOG

The Appalachian Council of Governments (ACOG) is a voluntary organization of local governments in the Northwest corner of South Carolina, serving a region that includes the counties of Anderson, Cherokee, Greenville, Oconee, Pickens, and Spartanburg.

Since its formation in 1965, the Council has served the dual mission of tackling issues of regional significance and providing services to local governments. Economic and community development, transportation, infrastructure development, resource management, aging services, and workforce development are all issues of regional importance in which ACOG takes an active role. At the local level, the agency’s services include general administration, technical assistance, training, planning, grantsmanship, and information/mapping services.

Click a County/State for more info


New Publications


Call Us:  864-242-9733