

MINUTES

APPALACHIAN COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING FRIDAY, APRIL 22, 2022 – 10:30 A.M. COUNCIL BOARD ROOM WITH ZOOM OPTION GREENVILLE, SOUTH CAROLINA

Members Present:

Monier Abusaft, Bob Briggs, Rep. Mike Burns, Rick Danner, Joe Dill, Ed Elliott, John Elliott, Ensley Feemster, George Fletcher, Mike Forrester, Sandra Gantt, Don Godbey, Ray Graham, Robert Halfacre, Henry Jolly, Ruth Littlejohn, Manning Lynch, Willis Meadows, Charles Pinson, Brian Ramey, E. Riley, Jeff Roberts, Cindy Wilson

Guests Present:

Susan Cyr, Joel Dill, Dean Hybl, Erin Predmore, Dayle Stewart, Will Whitley, Megan Young

Staff Present:

Lance Estep, Trey Eubanks, Brooke Ferguson, Steve Pelissier, Tim Womack, Don Zimmer

Call to Order

Chairman Forrester called the meeting to order. Mr. Riley offered the invocation. Mr. Pelissier introduced board member, Sandra Gantt of Pendleton, who was attending in person for the first time. She has been attending on Zoom since January. He also introduced guests who would speak later in the meeting. Chairman Forrester asked for a motion to approve the minutes from the March 25, 2022, board meeting. Mr. Riley made a motion to adopt the minutes. The motion was seconded by Mr. Godbey. The motion was approved unanimously. The financial statement was accepted as information.

Introduction of Two Recently Hired Employees

Chairman Forrester asked Tim Womack, Aging Services Director, to introduce two new employees. Paige Northrup was hired as the new Ombudsman Intake Coordinator in March, and Pam Rogers became the fifth Aging Services Assessor for ACOG in April.



Rebuild Upstate

Chairman Forrester introduced Dayle Stewart, the Community Engagement Director of Rebuild Upstate, a home repair organization that works with low income home owners in Anderson, Greenville, Pickens, and Oconee Counties. She gave statistics and outcomes, and discussed how ACOG funds were used in 2021. She discussed the need and value of minor home repairs for seniors such as wheelchair ramps, grab bars, and bathtub to shower conversions. She reviewed the intake process, prioritization criteria, waiting list (1,200 homes), and successes.

Upstate Mobility Alliance

Chairman Forrester called on Dean Hybl, Executive Director of Ten at the Top. He gave a brief overview of Ten at the Top and shared how the organization is continuing to communicate with the community during and after COVID. Mr. Hybl discussed upcoming events and current initiative focus areas. He then introduced Will Whitley, Director of State, Local Government Affairs and Community Relations at Michelin North America, and Leadership Team Member of the Upstate Mobility Alliance (UMA). Mr. Whitley explained that Michelin partners with Ten at the Top on the UMA initiative by supporting transit growth in urban and rural areas, van pool programs, and by working with neighborhoods to identify current mobility options and future needs. He also reviewed Michelin's financial support of UMA.

South Carolina Legislative Report

Chairman Forrester called on Brooke Ferguson, Economic Development Director, to update the board on legislative matters of interest to local governments. She gave highlights on the budget, noting specific changes made by the Senate. Mr. Pelissier commented on the changes affecting the ACOG budget. The Vaccine Mandate bill was ratified. The early Voting and Absentee Ballot Voting bill has been returned to the House with amendments. Ms. Ferguson stated that the SCDHEC reorganization bill was referred to the House Ways and Means Committee. She reported on movement of the Family Leave bill, Lot Clean-Up bill, and the Compassionate Care Act.

ACOG Board Committee Appointments

Chairman Forrester listed the new board committee appointments. Executive Committee – Monier Abusaft, Spartanburg County. Executive Committee Alternates – Ray Graham, Anderson County; John Elliott, Oconee County; Ruth Littlejohn, Spartanburg County. Finance Committee – Roy Costner, Pickens County; Jack Mabry, Spartanburg County. Personnel Committee – Robert Halfacre, Pickens County. Economic Development Committee – Brian Ramey, Oconee County; Rick Danner, GVL/Sptbg Counties. Intergovernmental Relations Committee – Sandra Gant, Anderson County. Regional Aging Advisory Committee (RAAC) – Charles Pinson, Anderson County; Robert Briggs, Spartanburg County. Regional Water Quality Advisory Committee – Vice-Chair, Jeff



Roberts, Anderson County. Chairman Forrester stated that these are new appointments. If a member's name was not called, his/her assignments carry over from last year.

Executive Director's Report

Chairman Forrester asked Mr. Pelissier to give the Executive Director's report. Mr. Pelissier pointed out the mileage reimbursement form and instructed new board members on its use. He stated that there was also an updated copy of the committee list available for those who wanted one. There will be a Finance Committee meeting on Monday, May 16, at 11:00 am, through Zoom. The Executive Committee Retreat will be on Friday, June 10, at the ACOG office. Mr. Pelissier reported that the federal co-chair of the Appalachian Regional Commission, Gayle Manchin, will be visiting the Upstate on June 14-15.

Member Reports

Board members were encouraged to visit Spartanburg to enjoy Spring Fling.

The next board meeting will be held on May 27, 2022, at 10:30 AM in the ACOG Board Room. Members may also attend through Zoom.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 11:50 AM.

Mike Forrester, Chairman

The South Carolina Appalachian Council of Governments has complied with the Freedom of Information Act in scheduling and conducting this meeting.

